Being Your Own Advocate

I have had a very, very,  very frustrating experiences with pharmacies, doctors and heath care providers over the past 36 hours.  Let me tell you a story.

Once upon a time, there was a girl who saw a very awesome neurologist . When that girl changed jobs, moved further away from the awesome doctor, and other life events took hold, the girl changed doctors. It was rough going for awhile.

The girl finally found another pretty good doctor closer to where she worked and her home. However, there was one small, no, big problem.

Image

So, insomnia. It is not fun. I went to my current doctor, told him what was going on, and he wrote me a script for Lunesta. I had been on Lunesta years ago and it was really helpful, so I was really happy. I trotted off to CVS, and waited for the medication. About 20 minutes later, the pharmacist called me up to the counter to tell me that my insurance company was no longer covering the medicine.

I asked how much it would cost me out of pocket, and was told it would be $400. Wha – Wha-WHAT? Not going to happen. I toyed with paying $12 for just one pill, but decided against it. I picked up a small bottle of Unisom and woke up groggy the next day.

Today I called the insurance company to see what the deal was. They told me that I would have to have my doctor’s office call them. Fine. I then called my doctor’s office. My doctor’s office was telling me that they usually just call the pharmacy. I advised the admin that the insurance company wanted to hear from them. So I repeated what I was told from the insurance company and I guess they finally listened to me because I received a call from my doctor’s office later today telling me that I would only have to pay ten bucks for my meds. Horray!

So, what did we learn? Never take no for an answer. If you need or want something, do whatever it takes to get it. When a door closes, find a window. Follow through. Be vigilant. Be your own advocate.

Leave a Reply

