It Takes A Village

Last week, I was running around (as usual) and realized that for the first time in almost eight years I was going to be late to pick up one of my kids. I called my son’s school and talked to the head Administrator. I told him that I was stuck in traffic and that I would be at the school in 10 to 15 minutes. I asked if it would be possible for someone in the office to tell either my son or his teacher that I would be running late. No problem, right?

 

Image

When I arrived at the school, my son was thrilled to see me. Relieved, actually.  On the walk home I asked him what was wrong because he seemed a little on edge. While he was explaining how worried he was, I realized what a 8 year old’s perception of time is like. One minute seems like 15, two seems like 20. So, when his teacher told him I was going to be “late” he just thought I would be a minute or two behind. Oops!

The next day, I got to the school super early. I was talking to the other parents and caretakers about what had happened and we all pulled out our phones and exchanged contact information. Now I have a little community of moms, dads, grandparents and other adults with kids at the same school my son goes to. And that is a good thing. Another great resource is Bundoo. http://bit.ly/1gtkTzh

Who can you help? Who can help you? Let me know in the comments below.

 

Leave a Reply

