Beware of Your Credit Report

Since 2006, we have been the proud (?) owners of a used 1996 Honda Accord wagon. For a while, it served our needs. It allowed me to get the kids in and out of the car without hitting my arm or head (like my old-new Beetle) and once we found a good mechanic who would actually service it, it ran well.

However, there was no way to fit all of the kids in the backseat, even with this advice. So, it was in search of new/new-to-me cars I went. I did a bunch of research and discovered that three cars fit the bill of my wants/needs (good crash test rating; could fit 3 kids in the back *in* carseats, not a gass-guzzler).

 

  • Kia Soul
  • Nissan Cube
  • Scion XB

I pretty much hate purchasing a vehicle, and one particular dealership really tested my patience with being ultra-slimy and treating me like a typical female car buyer. While I was at that dealership I did find a used vehicle listed above. I did not have enough cash on hand to buy it outright, so I filled out the paperwork for a car loan. The salesperson said she/he had to pull my credit report.

 

creditreportfail

I thought nothing of it, mostly because I went with another dealership to purchase my vehicle. That is, until today. I was reviewing my credit card statement and found a charge from Experian and another “company” called ScoreSence for $29.95. I called ScoreSence to tell them I never authorized the charge and the representative (who was completely rude and dismissive) advised me that “I must have.” When I explained that, again, no I did not, the representative countered with the information that “my account(?) would be reviewed and a manager would see if the payment would be reversed back to my credit card.”

So, obviously, the next step was to call my bank/credit card company to dispute the charges. The 2 companies above did not follow these business rules.

  • Customer service agents being receptive/compassionate to customer’s needs.
  • Providing an actual number for customers to reach them. (Try contacting a live person at Experian).
  • Allowing their customer service representatives to resolve issues off script.

Next time you have your credit report pulled, just keep the above in mind. And also, remember, your customer service reps are the front lines of your image and brand.

 

Leave a Reply

