A Real Guide to Job Hunting (Part 1)

I realize I have been slacking in creating new blog posts. I will come clean on something. I have been looking for a job. I know, I know. Many of you are all “what is going on?”

whatisgoingon

My consulting business is going OK, not great. There have been a lot of teacher work days and snow days. I typically do kid duty on those. Plus, I get stuck with lovely tasks like billing, Accounts Payable, Accounts Receivable, going to all sorts of events (which sounds like fun in theory but is a huge time suck). Long story short, I am doing more of the administrative stuff versus the actual marketing stuff which is what I am good at. Math never was and never will be my strong suit.

I started my job search in the usual places: LinkedIn, Indeed and CareerBuilder. I dedicate at least one hour a day to applying for jobs, making sure I am selective in that the position is actually something I can do, and would interest me long term. I am not looking to do this again anytime soon.

I have even had some interviews. In the next few blog posts I will share my experiences, warts and all. I think I am close to a job offer – after six months of hardcore looking I had better be. Anyone else out there in the trenches as far as looking for a new job? Share your experiences below.

Leave a Reply

